Sunday, January 16, 2011

Dakar - Bikes: Coma wraps up third win!!!

Marc Coma wrapped up the third Dakar Rally title of his career despite only finishing fifth in the final stage!!!

Coma finished 2:16 behind winner Frans Verhoeven on the straightforward final stage from Cordoba back to Buenos Aires.
However, in the overall standings, hestill finished over 15 minutes ahead of his KTM team-mate and nearest rival Cyril Despres.
"You have to be focused, I concentrated on my riding style. It was the only way to get the win," he said after the race.
"It was very difficult, at no time has it been possible to relax. When you finished a tough day, the next was even harder.
"We know that the Dakar is very hard but this year it was especially hard.
"Now I'll rest and think about the future because the truth is that when you are in this race, with all the constant tension, there is not a moment to think about something else."

1 Marc Coma 48:25:00
2 Cyril Despres + 15:04 +
3 Hélder Rodrigues + 1:40:20 +
4 Francisco Lopez Contardo + 2:09:45 +
5 Juan Pedrero Garcia + 3:07:03 +
6 Pal Anders Ullevalseter + 3:32:56 +
7 Jean de Azevedo + 3:59:38 +
8 Ruben Faria + 4:13:01 +
9 Quinn Alexis Cody + 4:52:10 +
10 Jacek Czachor + 6:13:41 +

News & Photo from:
Eurosports & Reuters

No comments:

Post a Comment